TT Circuit Assen
The Assen circuit is steeped in motorcycle racing history and has been an iconic track for fans across Europe and renowned as 'The Cathedral'.
The original Assen track was first used for the 1925 Dutch Tourist Trophy race, held on country roads through the villages. The circuit remained unchanged until 1955, when a whole new circuit was built close to the site of the original and initially had a length of 4.788 miles.
The circuit was fundamentally redesigned again in 2006, becoming the Assen TT Circuit. All alterations aside, only one section of the circuit is original; the finish line never moved.
In 1999 the circuit was modified with a new grandstand, control tower, press centre and renovated pit garages. Modifications to the Assen circuit over the winter of 2005/6 saw the length reduced to 2.822 miles.
Assen has rapid changes in direction, and is fully surrounded by grass banks and grandstands, providing excellent viewing for the hundreds of thousands of spectators who visit every year. A huge favourite with riders, Assen is well known for its festive and extravagant atmosphere.